About Us

Our History

The Pembina Valley Conservation District (PVCD) was officially established by Order in Council on October 2, 1989, after four years of negotiations between local municipalities. The original members were the Rural Municipalities of Lorne, Louise, Pembina and Thompson. Pembina Valley was the sixth CD to be formed in Manitoba since 1972. There have since been twelve more additions. 

The primary reasons for forming the Pembina Valley Conservation District involved concerns with the loss of valuable topsoil through wind and water erosion in the area. Water shortages for local farmers, and erosion of municipal roads, have also been persistent problems. The establishment and operation of a CD has provided local landowners with technical and financial assistance to participate in the kind of soil and water conservation programs that they feel are needed.

With the announcement of Municipal Amalgamations in 2014, the PVCD's partners changed somewhat. Our urban partners were kept intact, with the addition of the Villages of Somerset and Notre Dame de Lourdes. The Municipality of Pembina, R.M. of Stanley, R.M. of Thompson, Municipality of Louise, R.M. of Lorne, Cartwright-Roblin Municipality and City of Morden were all still members.

Effective January 1, 2020 the Province of Manitoba proclaimed The Watershed District Act. According to the Climate Minister Sarah Guillemard,  “Our government is committed to becoming Canada’s cleanest, greenest, most climate-resilient province, and an important part of achieving that goal is to ensure the sustainability of our wetlands and watershed today, and for generations to come.”

With this proclamation the Pembina Valley Conservation District became known as the Pembina Valley Watershed District (PVWD).  We became a true watershed based approach to watershed management in Manitoba.

Our Rural Municipal Members

* also residing in other Watershed Districts. Please review sub-district maps to determine if you legal is in PVWD.



Ryan Sheffield

Under the direction of the board, Ryan provides advice on physical means by which to implement board objectives, assists in preparing management and work plans, and assists in preparing project plans.


Lexine LeBlanc

Under the general direction of the manager, the administrator is responsible for all district record keeping, including financial accounting and keeping minutes for the board.

Alma Thiessen
Assistant Administrator

Under the direction of the administrator and manager, Alma assists with the districts record keeping, including financial, writing articles and general office duties.


Randy Dow
Engineering Technologist

Under the direction of the manager, Randy assists with work plans and construction. He works with contractors during project construction.

Gerrit Maxwell
Assistant General Technician

Under the direction of the the engineer technologist and manager, Gerrit assists with the work plans and construction. He is also responsible for drafting the district project designs with AutoCad.


Samantha Leech
GROW Coordinator
West of Manitou

Under the direction of the manager and board, Samantha coordinates programming under the Growing Outcomes in Watersheds (GROW) program.

Dean Richards
GROW Coordinator
East of Manitou

Under the direction of the manager and board, Dean coordinates programming under the Growing Outcomes in Watersheds (GROW) program.

Kelsey Heppner
PWCP Coordinator

Under the direction of the manager and board, Kelsey coordinates programming under the Prairie Watersheds Climate Program (PWCP) as well as assists the manager with other programming.

Meet PVWD Board Members

The PVWD is managed by 6 Sub-District Board Chairs, a Board Chairperson and an additional member who represents the Province as a Provincial Appointee. Visit the PVWD Minutes to see a list of names of your sub-district representative.

Meet PVWD Sub-District Members

Each Rural Municipality within the sub-districts appoint two people to the sub-district, only one of who may be a councilor. Visit our Programs page for a map of the sub-districts and the PVWD Minutes page for a list of names of your sub-district representatives.